Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-02-2014

MaJo is on a distinguished road
Canada to USCG Documentation...What's the process???

Hello! I'm a newbie here, I've been reading these forums for a few years now but this is my first post. I've been looking through the forums here and have seen a few posts that touch on this subject, but don't really answer the questions that I have. So here goes...

I'm currently in the process of trying to buy a boat that I absolutely love. It has no more and no less than everything I feel I need in a small cruising/live-aboard boat and it just seems perfect for me (and I have very picky taste). I've been in communication with the owner and we both want to go ahead with the sale, but we've run into a bit of a dispute concerning paperwork. The boat is Canadian registered and I am American, so I would want to register it with the coast guard. The coast guard website says that the documents I need to send in with the documentation application are the bill of sale(notarized by a US certified notary), a copy of the Canadian registry, and proof of removal from the Canadian registry. I called in and spoke with a coast guard representative and they confirmed all of this. However, the owner says that he has done multiple sales to US citizens and that all he's ever needed to produce is a Bill of Sale. He says he's been asking around to all of the local brokers and anyone else he can find who has made a similar sale in the past couple of years, and he says that everyone he's talked to except for one person has only needed the Bill of Sale and they didn't need it notarized.