SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Boat Review and Purchase Forum (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/boat-review-purchase-forum/)
-   -   Need Advice (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/boat-review-purchase-forum/15648-need-advice.html)

micetic 04-24-2006 06:02 AM

Need Advice

Hello,

I am a beginner at sailing and will be returning to the Pacific Northwest soon and purchasing my first sailboat. I need some tips and advice about what would be best.

I would like a boat that is not shorter than 26' nor longer than 31'. I believe any larger would be unmanageable for a single person that is not an expert.

Here is my big question, as a beginner, is it better to learn to sail on a mono-hull or a catamaran? I know one is not better than the other, but would it be more beneficial to learn the intricacies of sailing on one or the other?

I will be doing mostly coastal cruising with aspirations (or delusions) of a blue water passage to the Med sometime so I would like something that is capable.

I would like recommendations on the mono vs. multi-hull and also specific recommendations for some of the criteria I outlined.

Thank you :)

sailingdog 04-24-2006 12:54 PM

Both monohulls and multihulls in that size range are capable of bluewater passages, as well as for use as a coastal cruiser. One good book to read regarding small sailboats, that are fairly capable, is "Twenty Small Sailboats to Take You Anywhere," which you can find at http://tinyurl.com/ruzrc

Some boats that I would recommend in that size range would be:

Monohulls: Contessa 26 (a very solid little boat, as made famous by Tania Aebi), Alberg 30, Pearson Triton 28, Albin Vega 27, Catalina 27, Bristol 27. I've sailed on all of these but the Contessa.

Multihulls: Corsair F28, Telstar 28 (both of these are trimarans) Heavenly Twins 27 Catamaran I've sailed on the two trimarans quite a bit, but not the cat.