Not a Member? 

Like Tree4Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-28-2014

Silverton10 is on a distinguished road
C&C 33 mk1 vs 34 vs Landfall 35

I was reading old posts (2008) and saw this comment about C&C 34 vs 35:

12-09-2008

FWIW, the C&C 35 Marks I or II are twice the boat the 34 is... better made, stiffer and faster...

I am fairly new to sailing, and looking to get my first boat. I am in North Carolina. I will be doing mostly day sailing and weekend coastal cruising for the next several years.

In my general vicinity, there are several C&C boats for sale. I'm attracted them based on their performance stats and reports of quality build, as well as aesthetics. The boats are a '75 33 MKI, '79 34, and a '82 Landfall 35.

The 33 seems like it would be a good performer (not looking to club race, but of course would enjoy coaxing out as much speed as possible), and the Landfall seems like the cabin would be a little more accommodating but not as performance oriented. I'm balancing my desire to enjoy the speed and fun of sailing and pushing this level boat, but also would appreciate moderate comforts when I have guests, or decide to slow down and enjoy a trip to the islands, etc.

In light of comment above from an older post, was wondering if others had any other insights or experience/recommendations?

All boats seem fairly well maintained, relatively equally equipped, and similar price range - $17K-$22K.

Thanks in advance for any insights.

Randy
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 10-28-2014

sailors is on a distinguished road
Re: C&C 33 mk1 vs 34 vs Landfall 35

I've owned two C&C's and have sailed on many others. IMHO, all were well built and some sail better than others. You can look at reviews right on this site under Resources, and then C&C of owners telling of the good and the bad of each model. Also check out the THE C&C PHOTO ALBUM & RESOURCE CENTER for more information.
Old 10-28-2014
Old enough to know better