• 1 Post By westsailpatti
  • 1 Post By PaulinVictoria
  • 1 Post By BarryL
  • 1 Post By SloopJonB

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-02-2015

Sunphish is on a distinguished road
1 gm Yanmar--Best Case Senario

I am considering the purchase of a boat (1980) that has a 1 gm Yanmar. I believe it to have been primarily a fresh water boat, now in saltwater. I also believe it has had the best of care by it's current owner, with many new parts, but not a rebuild.

Here is my concern. Nothing mechanical lasts forever. 35 years has to take it's toll on the internals of any engine, even one that is well cared for.

Best case scenario, how long will this gem hold up, before replacement is likely?

5yrs, 10, 15?

My inclination is to give the value of a 35 year old engine as very minimal. But I am no expert so that's why I'm here. Thanks for any guidance.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 02-02-2015

aa3jy is on a distinguished road
Re: 1 gm Yanmar--Best Case Senario

To many variables but the number of hours on the engine doesn't tell how the engine was operated;ie; long continues hours, short runs barely enough for the engine to get to operating temps....

If concerned suggest to get a seperate engine survey along with the typical boat survey.
Old 02-02-2015

bljones has a spectacular aura about bljones has a spectacular aura about

an engine survey, or at very least a wet/dry compression test and mixing elbow inspection wouldn't hurt. They are a tough, durable little engine, and are easy to repair, with decent spares availability.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 02-02-2015
Banned

westsailpatti is on a distinguished road