Advice for buying this Catalina 30 - SailNet Community
 2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 23 Old 02-07-2015 Thread Starter

Advice for buying this Catalina 30

Hi,
I am new to sailing. Have only been on a boat once but have been reading a lot about it. I looked at a Catalina 30 and did a self inspection and would appreciate experienced advice and recommendation on purchasing a boat in this condition. I would like to know which of these are deal breakers and which are regular for an old boat and should be expected.
It's a 1979 and going for 10,000.

-- Current owner of 2 years has never sailed and doesn't know anything about sailing. He was only living aboard, as was the owner before him.
-- Boat has only motored around a few times in last several years.
-- Boat has not been taken out of water for years and has growth on hull and rudder from what I could see (slime and a few barnacles).
-- Owner wet suited underneath and says it's a solid hull.....
-- Deck does not feel spongy
-- The backstay was flopping around totally loose
-- The wind speed indicator at top of mast was not turning and it was really windy out.
-- Mast spreader bars did not look like they had protective boots to prevent sail chafing.
-- Mainsail is destroyed. Has another "unknown" sail inside in "good" condition.
-- No roller furling setup which I prefer.
-- Mast stays seem rusted because there is a protective boot material on it but is totally wore out but still holding moisture for rust to form.
-- Rudder handle is falling off
-- Universal 5411 motor starts up and runs good. 900 hours on it.
-- He only changed impeller once and didn't put a gasket on the cover plate so it started spraying everywhere when he started it up.
-- Lower part of engine has rust everywhere and oil.
-- He didn't know where the oil dipstick was when I asked him.
-- Oil level is ok but is really black. No water or milkiness in it.
-- All through-hulls are seacocks and no gate-valves