Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-04-2001

loban is on a distinguished road
A good safe boat ?

I would like opinions on the boat best suited to my particular needs. I will be sailing inland lakes, mostly in the Canadian prairie region ranging from the small to the fairly large( Lake Manitoba). Trailerability is important although I do own a 3/4 ton truck and can pull a fair load. I have very little experience and living in a remote location do not have the opportunity for lessons. I did have a small sail boat that gave me a bit of a feel for the art. A good safe boat is really important as most of these lakes have very few if any other boaters. Does a catalina 22 or 25 fit the bill?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 08-05-2001

JohnDrake is on a distinguished road
A good safe boat ?

In a word, yes.

There was a good article on "trailer sailing" in Sail (I think), you might try looking it up at: www.sailmag.com (I think). It discussed the various types of boats and rigs. Interesting.

I would suggest getting the larger boat for your needs, the 25 over the 22. You will be happier and keep her longer. I think the C 25 has two options: water ballast or lead ballast. I personally would not get a water ballasted boat. There are fixed, swing keels and trunk keels. I would think a fixed or trunk keel would be less problematic, but whatever the C 25 comes in, you cannot go wrong. Have any boat surveyed by a thorough and reputable surveyor.

If you a somewhat new to sailing, take lessons that include A LOT of safety and rules of the road training. People still lose their lives in shallow water, sometime yards from shore. Get "backups for backups". Also, where you will be sailing, keep in mind that an unprotected person will last about 2 min in 40F water. Always think through what you are doing.