Prindle 19, am I being foolish as my first boat? - SailNet Community
 6Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 25 Old 02-15-2015 Thread Starter

Prindle 19, am I being foolish as my first boat?

I've been checking out a good condition Prindle 19 cat as my first sailboat. Am I a fool to think I can handle and rig it as a total beginner. I've been on a rental cat once but didn't have a clue about sailing then...and it was 12 years ago. I would normally be sailing it with a friend and maybe his wife. I'm 170, hes 155, and his wife is maybe 95. I'm 30 years old.

At this point I'm a little ahead from being a total beginner in that my dad used to sail a little bit and I've been reading and watching instructional videos every day for the past month ever since I've come to Florida and realized right away this is something I wanted to do. So no experience, but at least getting in the ballpark on the basics.

In general I'm pretty coordinated and pick up new skills quickly, I just want to make sure it's a platform I'm not going to kill myself on while I get my bearings. I'm assuming I can just go out in really calm winds and just not trim the sail in completely to limit the speed.

Theres not a lot of internet info on the Prindle 19 what I can find seems positive. I still havent been able to find if its foam core or not on the hulls though.

I'm up in Ocala, Forida. Would probably spend most of the time on Lake George.

Last edited by TAMUmpower; 02-15-2015 at 11:00 PM.
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 25 Old 02-15-2015
Last Man Standing

Re: Prindle 19, am I being foolish as my first boat?

Heck no! Go for it. I LOVE sailing beachcats! Even when I sail them onto the rocks like a moron!!!

Seriously, they are a freakin' blast.

My beachcat is a weird hybrid of a Prindle and a Hobie. It's called a Spirit 17...

And I brought it back from a rotting hulk in a field:

Flying a hull is just about the best feeling ever.