Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-03-2006

skinjohn is on a distinguished road
what's the very first thing to do?

for an ABSOLUTE beginner...who's been on ski boats for years, but was a guest on a sailboat only once...

what is the very first step to sailing? what little boat do i rent for the first try on my own?
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 08-03-2006
Seńor Member

TrueBlue is a jewel in the rough TrueBlue is a jewel in the rough TrueBlue is a jewel in the rough
Around these parts, I think many sailors started out on fun, but wet boats, such as Sunfish and Lasers. Graduating to the next level will then become easier.
Old 08-03-2006

SailinJay is on a distinguished road
The very first step might be to get some type of instruction, either from a person who already knows how to sail or through an ASA beginner course. If you have no idea what to do, even on a very small boat, you can get very frustrated and you will get very wet. If you have some sense of wind direction and its affect on the sails, you could give it a go on your own.
Old 08-03-2006

chuck5499 is on a distinguished road
skinjohn -- welcome to the great world of sailing -- you may find that it is for you or not. Not sure where you are located but to find out if you really like sailing try taking the ASA (american sailing association) 101 sailing class. it is 2 days and really gives you the basics of sailing. If you like that go out with a friend or two and then take 2 more classes from asa and then you can bareboat charter --
I did not start small - i was 55 when i took up sailing and took the courses and chartered and then bought a 40' boat.
good luck and welcome to greatest time on earth
chuck and soulmates
Old 08-03-2006
Telstar 28