Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-03-2006

praxitek is on a distinguished road
Talking Which Boat?!?!!

Hi All,

For starters, I have never owned a boat and I would like to buy a 30 – 35 feet boat.

Could you guys recommend some boats (affordable ones) that I can look at?
I’m a beginner so I need pointers as to what boats to look for and what boats to stay away from.

Thank you a lot,

Praxi
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 08-03-2006
Wandering Aimlessly

PBzeer has a spectacular aura about PBzeer has a spectacular aura about PBzeer has a spectacular aura about
An older Catalina 30 would probably be your best bet.

Free, is the heart, that lives not, in fear.
Full, is the spirit, that thinks not, of falling.
True, is the soul, that hesitates not, to give.
Alive, is the one, that believes, in love.
JCP

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- Website & Blog

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 08-03-2006

Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about
In order to make a recommendation it would be helpful to know where you plan to sail and what is you budget? As for boats to stay away from I would stay away from older Catalina 30's as a first boat since you don't have a lot of experience in maintaining and upgrading a boat.

Jeff
Old 08-03-2006
moderate?

camaraderie is a jewel in the rough camaraderie is a jewel in the rough camaraderie is a jewel in the rough
Prax...You haven't told us anything about where you will sail, what you can afford or what you intend to do with the boat.