O'day Mariner or Siren 17 - SailNet Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 07-27-2015 Thread Starter
Ryan

O'day Mariner or Siren 17

I'm new to sailing and am itching to purchase my first boat. Here's a bit of what I intend to do: It'll be tied up on a floating dock behind my house and sailed in Great Bay, NJ. Short day trips only, the bay does get a steep 2ft chop on it though in the afternoons.

My budget is $1500 max and I've come across these two boats that seem to fit my needs but would like some input. I know the oday can handle bay chop but can the Siren? Both boats are older and need some tlc but the sails and hull seem to be in good shape. Thanks for the input.
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 07-27-2015

Re: O'day Mariner or Siren 17

My brother has a Siren 17 and I've seen him on Lake Superior in some awful ruff water He's single handing it most of the time.It's a good little boat...Dale

Reluctant Lady
Cal 28, 1967
Lake Superior
Where God got it done!
post #3 of 8 Old 07-27-2015
Tartan 27' owner

I have sailed on a Mariner 19' which is kind of sister ship to the O'day 19' but not the Siren. Either model looks good for handling shallow spots that you will find in the back bays on the Jersey coast.
I spent an overnight on the Mariner 19' back in my late 20's; was fun but cramped.
Longer LWL always means slightly faster sailing speeds.

For older boats that may need some tlc it is all about the upkeep, or lack thereof they may have received. It is also about you and your budget and what you are willing to undertake.

Good luck.

"The cure for anything is salt water~ sweat, tears, or the sea." ~Isak Denesen

Everybody has one:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by CalebD; 07-27-2015 at 11:16 PM.

post #4 of 8 Old 07-28-2015