First sailboat, the search continues... - SailNet Community
 2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 1 Week Ago Thread Starter

First sailboat, the search continues...

As the title suggests, I'm fairly new to sailing and I'm searching for my first boat. I sailed an enterprise 14' for many years so I do have a small amount of know how and sailing ability. I've looked at about 10 boats so far and they have all been kinda beat up and bordering on being money pits and projects. Those of you that have sailed several boats, please suggest some boats I should focus on...

The type of sailing I'd like to do is performance cruising. I live in Vancouver and I'll likely be in the straight, sunshine coast, San juans, gulf islands....maybe a circumnav of the island next year.

Boat budget 5 grand. Maybe more for the right boat. What I've looked at so far...

Catalina 27: I've looked at 2. Both under 5 but pretty beat. My first impression was that they're sterile and lack the nautical vibe I'm after.

Islander 26: almost 7 grand asking price, from what I've seen, it was worth 3500. (How do you nicely tell a guy nicely his boat kinda sucks for the price!!?) I liked it though, beamy, comfy, I could see myself in one of these.

Chris craft Pawnee: hilarious, like a toy.

San Juan 7.7: beautiful, I should have bought it. I can't believe how clean this boat was. Was priced right and everything was good in the world...I offered the seller 400 less than asking....the guy that looked at it an hour after I did bought it. I cried a small tear.

Hughes 27: looked like a girl with a huge booty. Tumble home design? Not for me. It seemed hulking and sluggish just sitting at the dock, extremely eager seller. I ran away.

In summary, I really liked the lines of the islander and the San Juan. I've heard the rounding up horror stories but figured I could just reduce a bit of sail and be OK.

Any comments and, or recommendations are much appreciated.

Cheers,
SL