SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

been away so long I hardly knew the place

3K views 13 replies 10 participants last post by  mtboat 
#1 ·
Hi all . I have been away too long. I sold the ghetto boat Illusion, it was a Bucc 240, and I went back to floating rivers. But I never got over sailing, and am looking at lots of boats. Having all ready searched for info on this boat and finding little, I turn to the Sailnet community for help.This boat is a Newport 214 on Spokane Craigslist. Caught my eye. But... I have questions, and I am hoping to hear from someone who has owned or sailed one to tell me a little about it's abilities. I have no experience with swing keels, or swing centerboards. I wonder about the pros and cons there. Also I just noticed these boats don't have a back stay. Is that crazy?
Just wanted it for fair weather sailing on small shallow ramp lakes. 900 bucks on the trailer. Any words of wisdom? Thanks, Halpine.

1984 Newport 214 Sailboat

#2 ·
How much do you need to hear about a $900 boat? Does it float? Does the trailer come with it? If so and you like it, get it.

#4 · (Edited)
Honey disconnect the phone ...

But... I have questions, and I am hoping to hear from someone who has owned or sailed one to tell me a little about it's abilities. I have no experience with swing keels, or swing centerboards. I wonder about the pros and cons there. Also I just noticed these boats don't have a back stay. Is that crazy?