SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Just purchased one but turns out not to be an islander 29 but a contest 29

3K views 6 replies 5 participants last post by  reminosouci 
#1 ·
Hi everybody!!! Thanks in advance for any of your support...
I just purchased a boat. I'm a sailing instructor in france for small catamaran 12 to 18 feet. So I know about sailing but nothing about cruisingcruising and I want to cross the Pacific. So here I am in California.
I don't know much so I preferred to buy a boat to someone I feel I could trust. So a guy told me that he had a great boat for the Pacific a islander 29. I did some research and it's seemed to be a good one.
But after one week, I realized the inside was different from the other one and did a research and find out that it was a contest 29.
My question :is a contest 29 blue water, I'm concerned about the system to rotate the mast vertically to horizontally is it strong? And is a islander 29 cost less than a contest 29?

#2 ·
I would think that Contest 29 is a better boat than Islander 29. Better design, better build quality. But these are very old boats now and crossing oceans in them will require extensive updates of equipment and a thorough inspection of all systems. Initial price of the boat is often less than 1/3 of what you need to invest in making your boat seaworthy. It makes a lot of sense to buy a boat that is already updated and fixed up.

#3 ·