Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-18-2001

j1budo is on a distinguished road
Looking for input on a CSY fixer-upper

Hello everyone, I found the information on the Survey and Sea Trials to be quite helpful. I am a novice sailor that is looking for a liveaboard in the 33''-37'' range that is around 30K in price.

I have stumbled upon a CSY 33 and I have done much research into these boats. The listing is of a 79'' but according to the hull number it was certified in 78'' which seems to be a fairly early model. From what I have seen so far most of the systems work but in general the boat is in rough shape. This boat is on the market for 35K and I believe I can get them down into the 20''s. I am a capable and confident person as far as making the repairs but I just wanted to get a general opinion of having a liveaboard cruiser where I would have to put some elbow grease into in order to get it up to par.

There was an elderly gentleman that was living on this vessel before he died (not in the boat) and now the marina just wants it out of there. Standing rigging looks old and worn and could use some touching up, ground rigging is ok but ropes need to be replaced. Electrical systems seem to be operational but I could not figure out how to work the radar that was on board but power does go to that device. Bilges worked, pressure water worked. There are some leaks that I was unable to find but there was a huge storm that just came through in florida and the marina did not batten anything down. I did notice some wood rot in places but I am sure I can replace what was damaged. The interior in general is old and worn, not exactly up to the quality I was expecting from a CSY from what I was reading so I would wind up replacing many of the interior items, which I am very capable of making from a brighter wood such as oak or maple.