Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-30-2006

bayouelton is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to bayouelton
Red face Beneteau 44, 51, or FEMA trailer ????

Little help here, please, folks. I'm a novice sailor wannabe'. Practiced with a rubber duck couple years back then studied my seamanship books and challenged the ASA 101 course. Kept puttin' off buying a sailboat for the dock in my back yard. But now however - thanks to Katrina - I've got a small chunk of change in the bank but no house. So build a big house, buy a small boat or build a small house and buy a big boat. What's a guy to do? Buying a lease back with the boat based in the Caribbean seems very attractive but then I only get to use it 2 to 10 weeks a year (which may or may not be a good thing). Has anyone here had any experience with buying a boat that way? I took a tour of the Beneteau factory in Marion S.C. several weeks ago and came up with a small laundry list of the optional goodies I'd like on my boat but then the leasing company told me I can't choose any of the specs! Bummer!! What's that all about?? Why any leasing company in the Caribbean would order boats without generators and bow thrusters I haven't got a clue. But anyway, all of that aside, what I'm primarily looking for is anyone out there who did the lease back purchase and later regretted it, or if they feel they got their money's worth. Any help, information, or feedback will be most appreciated. Thanks a bunch.

Elton Hartzler (p.s. - and what can I expect it to look like when I get it back in 5 yers and why are they all Beneteaus?)
bayouelton@aol.com

Last edited by bayouelton; 08-31-2006 at 12:15 AM.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 08-31-2006
Telstar 28