Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-17-2006

poorfatjames is on a distinguished road
Smallest boat for 100 miles into Gulf of Mexico?

What would be good sailboats for going 100 miles out of Galveston into the Gulf and back? (specifically, to the Stetson and Flower Garden Banks- on this map, the first and second western most orange dot in the Gulf
http://www.gulfbase.org/reef/ ).

I'd like to know some common, small, cheap used boats for this. I need next to nothing in terms of creature comforts, just a sturdy rig suitable for safely performing the course. I'm willing to work on the boat as well, and add safety equipment needed.

I'm a beginner sailor, but I'd like to start making this run in about a half year's time (assuming I get enough experience by then for fair weather weekends). I'd like to be able to set out on a Friday and come in on Sunday. If I'm dreaming let me know. hehe.

James

Last edited by poorfatjames; 12-17-2006 at 02:22 AM.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 12-17-2006
Wandering Aimlessly

PBzeer has a spectacular aura about PBzeer has a spectacular aura about PBzeer has a spectacular aura about
The problem you run into in this area, is that bad weather can come up very quickly and unexpectedly. You're talking basically a full day of sailing to get there and then to get back to any sheltered areas. (5.5 knots being approximately 6 mph) Also, you're heading almost dead into the prevailing winds for that area on the way out. And this isn't even accounting for getting out of Galveston against the tide if necessary, or returning against it. You also have a lot of rigs and shipping to deal with.