Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-24-2006
Yamsailor

Yamsailor is on a distinguished road
Buying a used Boat--Age issues

Hi all,

I have been sailing for 13 years. I have started exploring the idea of purchasing a boat. I am looking in the 35-38 foot range. I have been looking at several production lines and I have a question. To demonstrate my example I will use one of the models I am exploring--the Tartan 3500. I am aware Tartan is a reasonably good quality boat--my question is this: I have seen for sale on the internet $100,000 difference between purchasing a 2 year old Tartan 3500 versus a 10 year old Tartan 3500. I do not mind in-concept purchasing an older boat as it fits my budget. As a general rule--are 10 year old sailboats going to need significant work? For example, is it common to expect I would have to fix leaking portholes, leaks from the hull-to-deck joints, replace the rig or the engine? Are the answers to these questions the same if I were to purchase say a Catalina 34 or 380?

Any advise from first-hand experience would be most appreciated.

Thank you in advance for your replies.

Yamsailor
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 12-24-2006

mike dryver is on a distinguished road