Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-24-2006

dave88 is on a distinguished road
Smile Buying a Yorktown 39'

Ahoy to all,
I am new to this forum and have enjoyed reading many of the threads. there is a wealth of info here that I have not been able to find in many of the sailing forums that I have checked out.
I have some experience sailing but has been a few years(10 +) am going to be taking some more coarses in the spring, But on to the point. I am looking for a liveaboard/cruiser and have come across the yorkton 39's that I am intrested in, but have not been able to find any recent info on. I wonder if anybody has any input, good or bad. I have found that most are a deep draft 6' + which can be a bit of a draw back, But at 39' are more than big enough for my son and I to live on comfortably. As I said any input would be nice.Would like to spend a few seasons in the PNW and then on to ???
Thanks Dave
PS: Or any sugestions on what you think would be a better Boat(About $60000 budget for initial purchase)
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 01-03-2007

Dao is on a distinguished road
Hey Dave,

I've checked out the Yorktowns myself. They are hard to find information about. One I looked at was very clean and the owner kept it looking nice.

Most people that I know that have them use them primarily as liveaboards and rarely sail. Again I bought something else just because there was little information out there about Yorktowns.

With $60,000 you should be able to get into something really nice. I would probably go with a production boat like a Catalina 36 - 38, Hunter or my first choice a Freeport 36. Lots of other good boats out there with roomy interiors, information available and good sailing characteristics.

I liveaboard my Newport 30. Very roomy, good intrernet support group and I enjoy sailing it. Check out the magazine, "Good Old Boats," for honest reviews.

Alan