Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-13-2007

greencaptn is on a distinguished road
Inboard vs. Outboard

I'm looking at a 27 foot Albin vega in my area that has a 15 horsepower honda outboard. I graduated from college this past December and would like to buy a boat to live/cruise on for a while(on the cheap). I've never sailed on a boat with an outboard. Could I use the same motor for my dinghy? Will it get similar gas mileage as an inboard diesel? Will maintenance be more or less frequent and more or less expensive? Will the weight affect the boat? Can an outboard be as efficient as an inboard without the propeller reaching down as far? I'm fairly new to sailnet and hope i'm not asking too many questions at once. Thanks for the input. --Richard
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 01-14-2007
moderate?

camaraderie is a jewel in the rough camaraderie is a jewel in the rough camaraderie is a jewel in the rough
Green...welcome! A 15HP outboard for a Vega needs to be a long shaft model to keep the prop in the water in a sea way. I assume this is the Honda configuration. Unfortunately that makes it unsuitable to power a dinghy.
Since you will be living and cruising and spending time at anchor to live on the cheap, you need to CHARGE your batteries with something so I would suggest looking at boats with internal engines and alternators. Diesel preferred.
What waters will you cruise in and what kind of budget are you working with?
Old 01-14-2007
Just another Moderator

Faster has a spectacular aura about Faster has a spectacular aura about Faster has a spectacular aura about
Green

Cam's spot on with the long shaft requirement. And even with a long shaft, if the engine is mounted aft on the transom, in any kind of seaway it will be virtually useless as the motion will lift the prop out of the water frequently.