Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-13-2001

lackland is on a distinguished road
1983 37'''' Hunter need info on

im looking to buy a 37'' hunter and want to know if there is any negative stuff i need to be looking for or some pros on this boat. i am a beginner sailer and am planning on living on this boat. any information or if you could point me in the right direction it would be appreciated thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 12-14-2001

Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about
1983 37'''' Hunter need info on

I am assuming this is the Hunter 37 Cutter. These were designed by Cherubini and are generally considered to be good boats. They offered well rounded sailing abilities; good behaivor combined with good performance for the era. These boats came in a number of layouts but the layout with the on center galley table and dedicated shower stall was considered the most workable for most cruising applications. These boats featured really good ventilation and a very nice workable U shaped galley. If I were buying this boat, I would look for a tall rig/ seep keel version for the Chesapeake or Long Island Sound.

Some of the negatives is that some of Hunters original deck hardware was not exactly up to the chore at hand (at least by modern standards) and/or will be somewhat dated. Depending on the individual boat; you might see upgraded winches, traveller and vangs. You also might see running backstays have been added for offshore use when sailing under the jib and reefed mainsail.