SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Boat Review and Purchase Forum (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/boat-review-purchase-forum/)
-   -   Boat Insurance for a $6k cash boat? (first time buyer) (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/boat-review-purchase-forum/29071-boat-insurance-%246k-cash-boat-first-time-buyer.html)

tenuki 02-12-2007 09:34 PM

Boat Insurance for a $6k cash boat? (first time buyer)

I live in Seattle area and am looking for a 24-26 keelboat for puget sound sailing. I'm new to boat ownership, been at a club the last few years and ready to have my own boat closer to my house (club marina is 30+ minutes away, local marina is 5 minutes away).

So, here is my list of questions. :)

1) Boat insurance, ? worth it ?, required? (paying cash), ?
2) What do I look for regarding titles, etc. Is it similar to a car?
3) Any additional recommendations or advice?

hellosailor 02-12-2007 10:08 PM

Your marina may require liability insurance. What it will cost will depend more on how you are rated (no prior ownership; boating safety course or formal training? etc.) than the value of that boat. If you have auto insurance, many companies will cover boats up to 28-30' at a bargain rate since it is just another motor vehicle on your liability policy to them.

Boats since 1972 have been built with a HIN, similar to a VIN, and usually are titled and registered similar to a car. Since you are looking to buy anyway...stop by some local brokers and ask. You might find one worth dealing with, and a boat to go with it.<G>

sailaway21 02-12-2007 10:49 PM

I wouldn't insure it. You're going to need every dime you've got!<G>
As hello says, if you can do just a PL/PD coverage like you've got on that '73 Vega that would cover you for the important stuff, like if you run in to somebodies boat that has a lot more zeros after the six.

PBzeer 02-13-2007 05:55 AM