SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Boat Review and Purchase Forum (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/boat-review-purchase-forum/)
-   -   Beneteau vs. Jeanneau (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/boat-review-purchase-forum/29552-beneteau-vs-jeanneau.html)

blemon 02-23-2007 08:02 PM

Beneteau vs. Jeanneau

Which is the better boat in the 38-42 range?

Zanshin 02-24-2007 07:53 AM

That's impossible question to answer, there are too many models and both companies are actually one and the same. What aspect are you most interested in? Price? Speed? Interior color? Ease of engine maintenance?

Moonfish 02-24-2007 11:35 AM

Ford or Chevy? Miller or Bud? Britney or Paris?

OK, sorry, you do ask a legitimate question. Yes, they are owned by the same parent company, but they are still manufactured by different people in different factories. There have to be differences, even "left over" from the days of fierce competition. Personally, I have no experience sailing a Jenneau, but have sailed chartered Beneteaus and found them to be fine boats - both for sailing and creature comforts. Niether one compares to a Pacific Seacraft or Valiant, but then you are looking at buying a GM, not a BMW. Nothing wrong with the GM model, either. That's all I would be able to afford.

Are you near any dealers for both companies? My suggestion would be to pick a model from each builder and do as much of an "apples to apples" comparison as possible. Once you do that, you'll be able to tell us which is the better boat (or more likely, which is the better value). Either way you go, I'll bet you'll be quite happy. Good luck!

Faster 02-24-2007 12:37 PM

Also Jeanneau hasn't always been part of the Beneteau companies, so your question may depend to some degree on the age of the models you wish to compare.

Zanshin 02-24-2007 01:14 PM