SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Boat Review and Purchase Forum (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/boat-review-purchase-forum/)
-   -   your 40-42´ bluewater cruiser (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/boat-review-purchase-forum/3003-your-40-42%B4-bluewater-cruiser.html)

ldatsailnet 01-10-2002 05:28 PM

your 40-42´ bluewater cruiser

Hi everyone,
I am new in this msg board and I am trying to refrase an old question. Putting aside electronics, looking strictly from safety, seaworthiness, and structural design aspects, which is, at the bottom of the (price or quality) scale the used (and how old) 40-42´ boat you would consider boarding to make a bluewater, long passage cruise?
Regards to all,

Jeff_H 01-11-2002 03:26 AM

If I get your question you are asking,''what is the cheapest used 40-42 foot boat that is suitable to make a bluewater, long passage cruise?

I will start by saying that you can make safe offshore passages in smaller boats and that that you may be able to get a better built, faster, more comfortable smaller boat for less money. The boats in the offshore capable boats in the 40-42 foot range that are at the bottom of the price range tend to be way older and have comparatively small interior volumes.

The other issue is how much work and money it will take to take a beater example of inherently offshore capable boat in the 40-42 foot range and make it offshore capable. The problem with big inexpensive boats is that they have a lot of age on them. Because of thier size, the parts to put one into solid shape are going to be expensive.