Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-25-2007
Great Lakes Sailor

padean is on a distinguished road
Used Boat Search

I am in the market for a used racer/cruiser sailboat in the 29-33 ft range for our family, and have noticed a peculiarity in both the local (Michigan) and entire Great Lakes region when searching the used boat markets. It is very easy to find boats 20-30 years old, and not too hard to find a new, or nearly new boat, but finding a boat in the most used boat listing in the 5-15 year-old range is nearly impossible. Could anyone shed a light on this? I am looking for a used boat primarily because I don't want to take that initial depreciation hit, and want to take advantage of someone else outfitting a boat with all the common extras, but don't really have time to refurbish a 30 year old boat at this time. I have been wandering around all the postings on this site for 6 months or more, and appreciate all the great advice, like searching YachtWorld and other sites, and what to look for in a used boat, but there is a huge gap in boats of the 90's vintage. Is this just because they were great boats and are not being sold? Are they too new to hit the used boat market in any numbers? Are they being sold in other ways? While I have seen a number of apparently well treated older boats, and would not be unhappy with a 20 year old boat that has been taken care of, I just wonder if I am missing something about the 5-15 year old boat market, or if it is really that small. Thanks.
"The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects it to change; the realist adjusts the sails." - William Arthur Ward
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 03-25-2007
Wandering Aimlessly

PBzeer has a spectacular aura about PBzeer has a spectacular aura about PBzeer has a spectacular aura about