SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Boat Review and Purchase Forum (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/boat-review-purchase-forum/)
-   -   1977 Hunter 30, Go or No Go? (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/boat-review-purchase-forum/31189-1977-hunter-30-go-no-go.html)

fishstick 04-08-2007 09:16 PM

1977 Hunter 30, Go or No Go?

Hi ya'll. I am a college student in Charleston, SC. My grand plan is to live aboard on a mooring in Charleston Harbor (and on my friends couches) for my final semester next fall. After that I hope to head South to Florida and maybe down the islands. One of the boats I am looking at is a 1977 Hunter 30. It is the full draft model with a 25hp universal diesel. The boat comes fully equipped with solar panels, dingy, life raft, EPIRB and all electronics. I have seen some negative comments on Hunters and was wanting to get some more feedback. Provided I pick my days, would this boat suffice for island hopping? Any advice on good boats for this purpose in the 30-35 foot range would be greatly appreciated. My budget is about $12000 +/-.

Thanks,
Colin

Sailormann 04-08-2007 10:11 PM

The jury is kind of split on Hunters. There are some who own and sail them and are very happy with them. Some not so. I think that the consensus is that they are not the best built boat out there, but suitable for light-duty use i.e.: you don't want to get caught in heavy weather in one.

Personally, I would think that a boat of that size, for that price will have problems that need to be rectified before you leave the dock for anything more than an afernoon's sail. Not because it is a Hunter, but because it is a 30 foot boat for $12,000.00.

If you think the boat is in great shape, then go ahead and get a survey done. If you have doubts, my recommendation would be to look at smaller boats in better shape. They are still quite capable of doing what you want.

sailingdog 04-08-2007 10:23 PM