Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-09-2007

fishstick is on a distinguished road
Good affordable, small livaboard

Well the boat I was looking at is no longer available so I figured I would start a new, more general thread.

Here is the situation: I am a college student in Charleston, SC. My grand plan is to live aboard on a mooring in Charleston Harbor (and on my friends couches) for my final semester next fall. After that I hope to head South to Florida and maybe down the islands.

Here are my criteria for a boat:
Must have a head with shower.
Must have a functional galley.
I would prefer wheel steering.
I hate small outboard motors, so I would really prefer a diesel inboard.
Needs to be able to sail single handed in a pinch.
Needs to be safe for island passages.
I need the boat to be ready to go for $12,000 +/-

Any suggestions and/or boats to avoid would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Colin

Last edited by fishstick; 04-09-2007 at 12:26 PM.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 04-09-2007
moderate?

camaraderie is a jewel in the rough camaraderie is a jewel in the rough camaraderie is a jewel in the rough
Here's a list of boats 25-30ft. that are in your price range (with negotiation) and in the southeast.
I would suggest the Catalina 30 and Pearson 30 would also be good boats to look at:
http://www.yachtworld.com/core/listi...&pbsint=&ps=30

There are no Irwin 30's listed in the south right now but those would be good for your purpose as well.
Old 04-09-2007
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice
Quote:
Originally Posted by fishstick
Must have a head with shower.
Must have a functional galley.
I would prefer wheel steering.
I hate small outboard motors, so I would really prefer a diesel inboard.