Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-23-2007

eskfreedom is on a distinguished road
Maple Leaf 42'

Hey guys, I need some advice. We went and looked at this boat today. YachtWorld.com Boats and Yachts for Sale&

We put in an offer for 92k!!! We fell in love with her interior and everything. She has a centerboard not a full keel. I have no knowledge of the advantages and disadvantages of such a boat. She also has an adjustable backstay wich I know nothing about. We plan on sailing from the northwest south to Mexico for a couple years and then the south pacific. We are a family of four and she is perfect for our kids. My big worry is the lack of a keel. But the shoal draft sounds realy nice. I just wonder how she will do on the open sea. The reason I put an offer in is because it is a smoking deal at 92k. Up here anyways.
So do any of you guys Know anything about this boat or any info or opinions will be much appreciated
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 04-23-2007

YachtWorld.com Boats and Yachts for Sale
Old 04-23-2007
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice
Given that you've got 33% of the weight of the boat as keel/centerboard, I doubt the boat has much in the way of stability issues. Keel-centerboard boats have made some amazing passages. The centerboard just allows you to get into shallower water than you would otherwise, while still giving you good windward performance.

The adjustable backstay is for helping control the shape of the sails. Increase the tension on the backstay to help flatten the sails to de-power them in heavier winds.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Telstar 28
New England