Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-14-2000

MSBugden is on a distinguished road
Brand New To Sailing

I am brand new to Sailing. Never!!!
I have decided I really don''t want to buy a house but would rather live on a boat.

I am looking for all the input I might be able to receive about boats which one person can handle.. Docking in south florida...
Live aboard..(it would be my house)..
Finance, insurance, what kind of boats to look for...Sailing school..

For anyone who might be interested in supplying me with some information I would grately appreciate it.

Thanks
MB
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 11-14-2000

dpierce is on a distinguished road
Brand New To Sailing

Dear MB,

I''ve considered the same thing. However, selling everything and living on one is a huge step, and I''d spend some time doing bareboat chartering before I even thought about living on one.

Dave...
Old 11-14-2000

Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about
Brand New To Sailing

You need to give us a bit more to go on. For example:

Do you plan to sail the boat or simply live aboard?
-You can buy reasonably cheap roomy boats but it is hard to find a reasonably cheap liveaboard that also sails well.

What are your long term plans?
-Is this a boat that you will live on for a while and then head off over the horizon (needs to be more seaworthy) or is this a boat that you will just live on in port and maybe some day buy a serious voyager?

What sort of work do you do?
If you go into an office you need better clothing storage space than if you work at home or are in a more casual trade.

What sort of budget do you have?