Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-20-2007

cbcat is on a distinguished road
St. Francis Cat?

Hello,

I'm relatively new to the used boat market and have begun my search for a cat somewhere in the 40-50' range. I intend to cruise the Caribbean primarily and eventually make a crossing to the Med. If anyone has information/opinion on a St. Francis Mark II 44, I would like to hear it.

I'm fairly new to sailing, and would like to find a cat that can easily be handled by 2 or perhaps singlehanded.

Thank you in advance.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 05-20-2007
Here .. Pull this

Sailormann will become famous soon enough
A multi-hull eh ? Hmm....

Quote:
(Boca Bay - Guadeloupe) Researchers at the University of Florida released the results of a ground-breaking study today. They believe they have definitively answered the question "Is it better to sail a monohull or a multihull ?"

The academics - a group comprising 3 sports medicine experts, a bio-chemist, 2 nutritionists and a kinesiologist - studied a group of 631 people who spent large parts of their lives on sailboats. Of this group 312 sailed monohull boats, and the remaining 319 people were owners or crewmembers on various catamarans and trimarans.

The study subjects were weighed and screened for psychological suitability. In addition, those who self-identified as members of the multihull group were assessed to ensure they possessed sufficient reasoning and spatial theorem processing capability to understand what they were doing.

Diet and types/frequencies of physical exercise were tightly managed by research support workers, for a period of three years, while the sailors went about their normal sailing activities. Regular exertions required to sail and live aboard the various craft were not restricted, and participants were encouraged to conduct themselves as if they were not under observation.