Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-01-2007

BrianInIraq is on a distinguished road
New Beneteau 40?

Hi folks. Brand-new here. I jumped on this forum looking for info/answers on the new Beneteau 40 (Oceanis).

Background: I'm a soldier serving in Iraq until October (unfortunately getting back *just* after the Annapolis Boat Show, darn it). I've previously owned a Catalina 27 and a Catalina 34. My cruising grounds are the Chesapeake Bay (I'm based out of Baltimore) with the occasional trip down the ICW to the Carolina sounds.

All I need is a roomy, decent "bay boat" - at least for the next several years. Once I retire I'll scale-down to a well-built boat (Tartan 3700, IP 370, etc) to do the island-cruising thing. But for now I'm perfectly happy with a "supermarket boat." My "usual" cruising is weekend trips with 2 couples and my dog (shooting over to Rock Hall, Swan Creek, Chester River, etc) and day trips with up to 8-10 work/school/team buddies (go tie up and party in Fells Point, take big groups out on the 4th of July, etc). So I want a big cockpit and an open, airy cabin. Don't get me wrong - sailing is a blast - but I'm not planning on doing any racing (already got the red hat - haha).

So my question is, has anybody been/sailed on the new Beneteau Oceanis 40 and have any thoughts?