Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-18-2002

ntostenr is on a distinguished road
Looking for a quality 27-30ft boat

I am looking to buy a good quality, reliable boat in the 27-30 ft. range. I have no more than $7500 to spend. I am going to be sailing the bahamas (shallow waters). Are there any specific boats I should stick to? Are there any models I should stay away from? I am a beginner, what are the most important things to check when looking at cheaper, older boats?

Any and all advise helps.

Thanks,
Nick T.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 02-18-2002

thomas s is on a distinguished road

Nick, very unpopular question around here. Are you sure you cant spend at least 70k to 100k and sail around some lake or bay for 20 years then possibly venture down the Icw. Of course you have to remember to have the proper displacement to lenghth ratio, sa/d ratio,stability angle, figure out your capsize formula , oh yeah motion comfort ,it can get nasty in the ICW when one of those tugs go by. Now you have your perfect boat on paper (thats what matters the most). sincerly thomas
Old 02-18-2002

thomas s is on a distinguished road