Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-10-2007

rlalaw is on a distinguished road
Victoria 18 vs Com-Pac 16

Hi - I'd appreciate any advice/thoughts you could share..

I'm a novice sailor, looking for my first boat.... a small, trailerable boat that I might be able to sleep on (very occassionally).. I live in Boston, and would like to do some coastal cruising, in the harbor and maybe inside Cape Cod. These 2 boats are for sale near me, in the approximate same price range ($1800 and $2100). They seem like they're both in decent shape. I tried to paste the links to the ads below, but I'm sure they will be offline in the next couple of weeks..

Please share any knowledge you have of either. THANKS!

1979 com-pac 16 (with trailer, 4hp motor, small jib): http://boston.craigslist.org/nos/boa/365615088.html

1983 victoria 18 (with trailer, no motor): http://boston.craigslist.org/sob/boa/368006604.html
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 07-10-2007
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice
The Compac's are pretty solid little boats... and make far more sense than the victoria 18, since the compac has both an outboard motor and a trailer.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Telstar 28
New England

You know what the first rule of sailing is? ...Love. You can learn all the math in the 'verse, but you take
a boat to the sea you don't love, she'll shake you off just as sure as the turning of the worlds. Love keeps
her going when she oughta fall down, tells you she's hurting 'fore she keens. Makes her a home.

—Cpt. Mal Reynolds, Serenity (edited)

If you're new to the Sailnet Forums... please read this