SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Surveyor in/near Slidell Louisiana

2K views 5 replies 4 participants last post by  mmcginnis 
#1 ·
Hey everyone. I've done a search for the topic but nothing comes up. Slidell is just north of Lake Pontchartrain.

I'm very interested in this boat and would love a recommendation for a surveyor in the area.

This would be my first boat and it seemed to be a pretty good deal and a good boat for a beginner. Everyone seems to love them so I thought I'd go this route. I live in South Carolina and would have the boat towed up to a lake outside of Columbia. I've been looking for something closer but I've been unable to find anything within my budget.

Thanks!

#2 · (Edited)
Well, mmcginnis, since nobody else has answered you, I'll give it a go. (N.B.: I'm a newbie at this, myself.)

If you have no other recommendations (see below), I would start with these two sites:

The National Association of Marine Surveyors, Inc.
The Society of Accredited Marine Surveyors, Inc.

And look for surveyors in and around your area.

But before you do that, try to learn something about sailboats, how they're generally put together, what you can expect to find in a boat of the age you're in the market for, the methods and techniques surveyors use, then...

Start making calls and asking questions. (Try to make 'em intelligent questions--thus the studying mentioned above.) It's been my experience that surveyors are willing to spend time with you on the phone explaining their experience, training, background, etc., and their methods, procedures, etc., if you're asking them good questions. (The more surveyors you talk to, the easier this gets, btw.)