Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-13-2007

jwspin is on a distinguished road
fixxer upper?

so ive decided to buy a sailboat. im a 24 year old biologist with an appetite for adventure. i restored wooden boats for side work during college. im very mechanical (automobile and diesel mechanic) and i build or repair everything that i own. im pretty green to sailing. i would like a boat that is capable of leaving my house in upstate NY on the hudson river and going pretty much anywhere from there. i would like to be able to one man my boat. i live very simply out of a 200 sq ft cabin in the woods or my veggie oil powered pickup so a boat of minimal size is ideal. most of the time the boat will be housing my girlfriend, 35 lb dog, and me. i have just began my search but it looks like i can get a reasonable project for under $2000?
i'm basically inquiring on opinions of basic specs for my needs.
size? (27-35?)
type of hull?
type of sail?
any boats to avoid?
because im buying a "project" i will more than likely have to be pretty flexible on the make and model of boat but i would like a general idea of specs just to get me started on my search...
thanks for your time and help...

-jared
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 07-13-2007
Scourge of Howe Sound

Hyperion is on a distinguished road
As someone who has been sucked into one "fixer-upper" too many, I can tell you that there are no "deals" under $2000 for a boat of the size you are describing. Costs tend to add up pretty quickly, and for the initial layout of $2000 plus all the inevitable extras, you're further ahead just laying out in the first place. Plus, you're going to want to sail it, and the amount of work a 27' boat under $2000 would require to even be seaworthy would keep you on the hard longer than you'd want to be.