Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-14-2007

ScrimpAndSail is on a distinguished road
Single Handed Cruiser Choices, Realities & Compromises

Hi Every one
I guess I need to start with my situation, needs, & wants.
I'm new to sailing. It's been an interest on and off since I was in my teens. I'm now in full-on midlife crisis. Work is a horrible travisty of all that's holy on a daily basis. I can't emphasize this enough. I don't want to reach the end of my life in a house full of junk & no life experience. I never went to college. (At least for a full degree or even close to it, Just what interested me. I could never discover a course of study I could stomach that would be worth while economically.) None the less my job has decent pay for someone without a college background. My soul is left dying.
Bad Timing- I know, But I'm almost ready to sell my house for less than I could If I just could wait a few years. This will only allow for a very well priced older boat. Maybe 20,000 or so.
I know, I know. Sweat equity OK, but it has to float.
I'm Taking classes to learn to sail. I just wouldn't feel comfortable without a foundation to grow on. But here is what I need-