Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-07-2007

punjabi is on a distinguished road
Putting together a budget

As someone who is new to sailing and dreaming about ownership in a year or two, I'm starting to put together some information to help me get a feel for what kind of spending will be involved both initially and on an ongoing basis. What I would like to do is put together a spreadsheet that would give a range of costs on a "best-case / worst-case" set of assumptions.

I'm a financial professional, so the spreadsheet and numbers portion is a breeze for me, but the practical experience of ownership is non-existent. What I would like to do is gather information from owners and develop some sort of spreadsheet that I could use, but that I could also make available for any of the other members that might find it useful.

Do you think something like this is doable, or are there too many variables to make it useful? Would something like this be useful to other members?
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 08-07-2007
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice
Ummm.. a lot of it depends on what boat you get... how old it is, where it is moored/docked, what kind of insurance you get for it... and so on. Maintenance costs will often be affected as well... A brand new boat will generally have lower maintenance costs, as will a boat that was recently re-fitted or upgraded, but a 5-10 year old boat may have some very major repairs and maintenance issues, like new standing rigging and sails coming up shortly.

Initial Costs:

Boat
Survey
Sea Trial
Haul out
Transportation to final berth

On-going costs

Maintenance
Docking/mooring
Insurance