SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Boat Review and Purchase Forum (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/boat-review-purchase-forum/)
-   -   36 (ish) Racer / Cruiser (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/boat-review-purchase-forum/36169-36-ish-racer-cruiser.html)

craigtoo 08-18-2007 08:46 PM

36 (ish) Racer / Cruiser

Hello,

Thanks for the great info here...Been scouring the old posts for a while and I think it's time for my first post...

Little about me:
I've been sailing for 30 of my 34 years. I grew up on Long Island and Dad built a 24 foot Bruce Roberts design in 1977. That boat still races (with my father at the helm) every Wednesday night on the Magothy River in MD. (Go Serenity!)

Grew up racing around the cans, went to college, raced 420s...Parents part owned / managed a marina for a while which was where I worked in college.

As a kid, we would have the family cruises in the summer (that's right 3 kids, mom and dad, crammed into a 24 foot boat sailing up the Hudson, or the Connecticut river...woah...), and every season we raced. Wednesdays and Sundays. All that was on the LI Sound. (Smithtown Bay!!!!)

So my sailing experience can be summed up as follows:
Raced (Wed night) alot from dinghy's to crewing on boats in the low 30 ft range.
The occasional Charter of a 42 Morgan in FL - all around the Keys.
Sailing around LI. (ALIR!!!! or just for fun...)
Limited Blue water experience...(very limited)

Now it's time to buy my own sailboat.

The boat will be located in a slip around Annapolis. My job affords me the opportunity to be home for 1 or 2 weeks every 2 months or so. I live in SC, but I'd like my second home to be in MD. Now, although my sister and her family and my parents all live in the area, I want a place to call my own....and I want it to be a sailboat. So, this boat will have to be comfortable enough for me to stay on for max. 2 weeks in a stretch. (but usually max 4 nights). I'm a single guy btw. Mechanical Engineer...