Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-02-2007

liquidharmony is on a distinguished road
help live a dream

Hi. Im 21 years old and looking to purchase a live aboard in the 35 foot range. i live in florida and would like something that could cross the gulf of mexico. I have very little experience but plan to spend the next couple years just paying off and getting the feel for whichever boat I choose. As of now, I dont plan on crossing any oceans, but it is a possibility. I will probably travel with a crew of 2 or 3 but th ability to go solo is a must. Im still in the research phase and would just like to know what I should be looking for. Any help is greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 09-02-2007
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice
What is your budget??? What kind of sailing experience do you have? Why are you looking at 35' boats??

BTW, crossing the Gulf of Mexico can be a pretty tough thing—just because it is only a gulf, you don't want to underestimate how dangerous it can be.

As for boats... it really depends on what your budget it... in any case, I'd recommend reserving about 15-20% of whatever your total purchase budget is for repairs, upgrades and refitting whatever boat you get. Boats, unlike cars, don't come ready to go in many cases... they often need changes made to them for them to work for the way you'll be using the boat.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Telstar 28
New England

You know what the first rule of sailing is? ...Love. You can learn all the math in the 'verse, but you take
a boat to the sea you don't love, she'll shake you off just as sure as the turning of the worlds. Love keeps