SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Best choices under 30

7K views 22 replies 15 participants last post by  LittleMissMagic 
#1 ·
Hi,

I am a newbie. I have played around with a buddy on a SJ 26 this summer and really enjoyed it. I have even done OK in it alone.

I am on the southern Oregon coast.

Now I am trying to learn about the field of used boats under 30 feet as I search for a boat of my own. What should I be looking for and what are the best designs. I like the way the SJ reacts. But I also understand there may be more modern designs. I am 6'2" and that is an obvious point of demarcation for headroom and bunks. But it is not a deal killer for me.

Please humor me with suggestions and your preferences.

sdodd

#2 ·
Not too many boats under 30' are going to have 6' 2" of head room. Some will have berths long enough for you to fit in comfortably, and that is probably more important than full standing headroom IMHO. What is your budget?? That has a lot to do with what boats you can look at... ;) and will you'll be sailing in the ocean or on in-land waters???

#3 ·
I do know that a SJ28 is reported to have 6'2" headroom. But that is not my only consideration.

My budget has more to do with value than absolute amounts. When I buy things I like to think I can get my money out on resale. I am seeing SJ28s in 48North at about 12K. I bet I could get them for quite a bit less cash.

I am in Coos Bay Oregon. This is a big bay with both north/south and east/west ranges where you can play around real well. But of course the NW Pacific is right across the bar. It can be mild out there sometimes but of course it can be very rough. I've been out there a lot in small boats and once under sail.

Thanks,

Steve

#4 ·
Just remember asking price and selling price are usually quite different.

#5 ·