Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-26-2007

kldzx9r is on a distinguished road
What do you think about a pilothouse sailboat

I thought of putting this question in another forum but I am looking for a boat to buy and this question relates to boat selection and purchase.

I am not experienced with sailboats much and looking for a bluewater boat to buy for extended trips maybe including crossing an ocean. I looked at some ads for pilothouse boats and they seem wonderful with navigation both on top and inside the boat to navigate while in bad weather conditions. I am guessing a pilothouse boat is a bit heavier and also maybe top heavy but they seem like a top choice. I think it is a wonderful feeling of the wind and spray of the sea in your face but for hours at a time wouldn't you prefer a pilothouse boat? Since pilothouse boats are not as common there must be a reason they are not desired as much but can you experienced sailors tell me what you think about a pilothouse boat instead of the others?
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 09-26-2007
Larus Marinus

Idiens is on a distinguished road
Since I have a pilot house (Coronet Elvstrom 38) I am biased. I sail in a T-shirt when others around me are braving the wind, rain and waves of the North Sea all wrapped up in their warmest all weather clothing and huddling under an inadequate dodger. And when it gets really hot, you need a bimini, which I have as standard by removing the pilot house sides and back.
But generally, such craft are not built to race. On a boat my size, it might carry 6 or 8 crew to race, but I only have room for four in the pilot house and the side decks are not designed to be sat on. Racing boats need lots of space to let a large crew move about fast. The pilot house does add windage, which equals drag, which equals not so fast up wind.