SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Boat Review and Purchase Forum (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/boat-review-purchase-forum/)
-   -   Gulfstar 37's Pro's & Cons (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/boat-review-purchase-forum/38049-gulfstar-37s-pros-cons.html)

Andyman 10-29-2007 01:14 PM

Gulfstar 37's Pro's & Cons

I'm still new to sailing but in the next 5 years I'd like to end up living aboard and sailing mostly in the Pacific. I'm drawn to the Gulfstar 37's. I like the looks, inside and out. But at this point, I really don't know squat. I'd like to get some opinons on these boats...positive and negative.

Thanks!

Andy

Denr 10-29-2007 01:22 PM

They're great boats if you want to sit in a harbor, watch the bad weather roll in a stay dry while in the pilothouse, these are crappy boats to sail, like having a townhouse (the pilothouse) in your way all of the time, there are MUCH better boats, light winds they're like molasses in a Chicago winter.

kvaavik 11-07-2007 12:59 PM

Denr, I think you have the Gulfstar 37 confused with other boats in their line. The 37 is a classic sailboat, no coachhouse. Gulfstar made a bunch of motor cruisers and sailboats that could have been called motor cruisers. But the 37 isn't one of them. It has a fin keel, skeg hung rudder, and a very nice layout for its era.

I've spent years sailing one. First the pluses:
- Reasonable performance for a cruiser. My '77 Gulfstar 37 easily outsailed an '89 Hunter 37 on a 6 hour port to port in the Great Lakes. It's no race sled, but it performs well for a cruiser.
- Roomy cabin with tons of teak. Very pretty and comfortable if it's been maintained.
- Fairly dry boat, the long bow overhand keeps the water off the deck and cockpit.

Minuses:
- The boats from the late '70's, early '80's have osmosis problems. We spent a long spring peeling the outer layer of glass off the hull and recoating with West Systems epoxy.