SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Boat Review and Purchase Forum (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/boat-review-purchase-forum/)
-   -   New To Forum ? about Cabo Rico (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/boat-review-purchase-forum/38125-new-forum-about-cabo-rico.html)

wilsdad 11-01-2007 11:14 AM

New To Forum ? about Cabo Rico

Want to hello to all the people out there I have been lurking for awhile but wanted to post. I have found a boat in my area and wanted some feed back. I am fairly new to sailing but want to continue to do it the rest of my life. The boat is a Cabo Rico 38 cutter rig it is way more boat than I need at the moment but would consider it to fix up over the next several years while I continue to learn more. Have not seen the boat but the owner says it has lots of equip. but does need some work. Just looking for some opinions. I will know more about equip. and see what the owner says it needs, also hopefully some pics.

Brezzin 11-01-2007 11:42 AM

Cabo Rico has always been a boat I've admired. It's a solid BW boat but is not known for it's speed. What year is it and have you had a survay done yet? What work do you actually know about that needs to be done? How do you plan to use it? Live aboard costal crusing or passagemaking?

labatt 11-01-2007 11:44 AM

Cabo Rico makes a great bluewater boat. The CR38 is very good. Usually there is an extensive amount of varnish on Cabo's (and I mean extensive). What year is it? If it's an older one, then the work is probably in the area of rebedding hatches/ports, brightwork, engine, etc.

camaraderie 11-01-2007 12:29 PM

Wilsdad...welcome! I agree that a CR38 in good shape is a great and seaworthy boat. A CR38 in not good shape can be an endless sinkhole of $$ to fix and may make the FIX more expensive than a similar boat in good condition would be worth.