SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Boat Review and Purchase Forum (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/boat-review-purchase-forum/)
-   -   Your advise? (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/boat-review-purchase-forum/38234-your-advise.html)

merttan 11-05-2007 06:00 AM

Your advise?

Hi again,
Well, instead of telling you guys one boat at a time, i decided to ask you directy...
I'm shopping for a 30-32 ft. sailboat as an upgrade from my 22 ft.
I'll list my needs and I'll really appreciate if you can tell me what I should shop for...
*We live in CT, so I'll be using the boat mostly in LIS and/or CT rivers for coastal cruising, and occasional bluewater sailing to Martha's vineyard and Block Island. It can get really choppy around RI so a sailboat that can handle the waters around.
*I have a lot of dingy sailing experience and a little cruiser sailing experience. (I was out 94 days last season:D ) So I'd like to get something easy to control.
*A single hand controlled sailingboat would be nice but not a necessity.
*I'm not really after the speed but comfort. Both under sail or on anchorage. I want a stable sailboat where I can have my dinner from the plate, not from the floor:D
*I'm not really handy about fiberglass repair or heavy mechanical stuff. I'm good at electrical, plumbing, light mechanical (change oil, filter etc), and any elbow grease job aboard. So please let me know which diesels I should stay away from.:o
*Me and my wife usually sail by ourselves but when we get guests we have around 4-5 people aboard(which was a big crowd on my 22 footer). Mostly for day sailing and travel not for overnight.
*My wife loves to cook, so we want to get some galley space.;)
*I'm 6'1" so I can use some headspace in the galley. :)
And I'll be in 15-20K range so looking for rather older but reliable boats...
So what's your advise?
So far I liked the catalina and islander bahama 30 footers' layouts...
Thank you all...

camaraderie 11-05-2007 08:27 AM