Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-10-2007
"On a Tartan 30"

BlowinSouth is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to BlowinSouth
Centerboard or Deep Keel? Pro's/Con's

Hello to all!

First off I'm glad to have found this forum I can't believe I've been sailing for 10 years and have never heard of it before.

Now to my question. I'm in the market for a new (used) boat. I'm trading up from an Islander 26 and looking for something in the 30-32' range. I've narrowed it down to a handful of boats a couple of which are centerboards. I've never sailed on a centerboard boat and don't know that much about them.

I'm more concerned with seaworthiness rather than getting into shallow anchorages. I will be sailing mostly in the New England area and the ICW with possibly a run down to the keys and bahamas.

This may be a dumb question but how do you raise and lower the center board? And what is it made out of? Lead I presume. Also if there is a line and winch to raise and lower it that would mean there is some kind of "hole" or access for the line to get through the hull and attach to the board yes/no? That seems problematic to me, and/or a possible way for water to enter the bilge.

Also, in the event of knock down or, god forbid, a roll over what would happen to the board? Would it come smashing back into the hull?

Also in the event of a knock down, a deep keel would seem to have more leverage to right the boat than a shallow draft keel would.

Am I off base here and/or over thinking this? (It wouldn't be the first time).

I guess what I'm asking is what are the pros and cons of a centerboard?

Thanks in advance!

Steve
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 11-10-2007

Andyman is on a distinguished road