SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Potential Cat 30 for ME!!!!

4K views 22 replies 10 participants last post by  punjabi 
#1 ·
I went and took a look a this boat and really like it. Seems like it just needs some cleaning, but I'm a real novice and will have a survey done.

http://www.yachtworld.com/core/list...rrency=USD&access=Public&listing_id=5184&url=

It's definitely priced on the high end, so there will be some negotiations I'm sure.

One thing I noticed that stood out was the engine. It doesn't look like the standard Universal 25s that I've seen on other Catalinas of this vintage. Does anyone recognize it and/or know anything about it?

I'd really appreciate any comments or thought on this particular boat.

Thanks in advance to all of you.

See less See more
#2 ·
Looks nice, yes very high priced. What worries me the most is that you say it looks like it just needs some cleaning. There is no such thing as a boat that just needs some cleaning. Sorry, don't mean to be negative, just realistic. Of course, a clean good looking boat goes a long way in how well she has been cared for. I hope that she is even better than she looks if you go that way.

#3 ·
Looks good.... but, as you say, pricey. Don't recognize the engine per se, but that's the standard Yanmar colour.

Eyes open, tight grip on your checkbook........

#4 ·
I'd agree that it looks good and that the engine looks like a diesel replacement...possibly a Yanmar...

I'd also have to agree that very few boats just need a cleaning... most will have something that needs either repairing or replacing. It is pretty much a fact of life with sailboats. :D

#5 ·