Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-11-2007

punjabi is on a distinguished road
Potential Cat 30 for ME!!!!

I went and took a look a this boat and really like it. Seems like it just needs some cleaning, but I'm a real novice and will have a survey done.

http://www.yachtworld.com/core/listi...g_id=5184&url=

It's definitely priced on the high end, so there will be some negotiations I'm sure.

One thing I noticed that stood out was the engine. It doesn't look like the standard Universal 25s that I've seen on other Catalinas of this vintage. Does anyone recognize it and/or know anything about it?

I'd really appreciate any comments or thought on this particular boat.

Thanks in advance to all of you.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 11-11-2007
Hitchin' a ride

bestfriend is a jewel in the rough bestfriend is a jewel in the rough bestfriend is a jewel in the rough
Looks nice, yes very high priced. What worries me the most is that you say it looks like it just needs some cleaning. There is no such thing as a boat that just needs some cleaning. Sorry, don't mean to be negative, just realistic. Of course, a clean good looking boat goes a long way in how well she has been cared for. I hope that she is even better than she looks if you go that way.

Vaya con Dios
Old 11-11-2007
Just another Moderator

Faster has a spectacular aura about Faster has a spectacular aura about Faster has a spectacular aura about
Looks good.... but, as you say, pricey. Don't recognize the engine per se, but that's the standard Yanmar colour.

Eyes open, tight grip on your checkbook........
Old 11-11-2007
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice