Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-21-2007

Waterrat is on a distinguished road
Rowing Sailboat Puget Sound

This is more of a dream at this point then a reality but my partner and I are possibly moving to the Puget Sound area in 6 months to a year. We are thinking we would like to get a trailerable sailboat that would suit our needs for that area. I have sailed on a charter (Only Crew) in the Gulf Islands a number of years ago and have gone on a kayaking trip in the same area but feel I donít know enough about the area to make any firm decisions on a boat. Since I learned to sail in the Great Lakes I have limited experience with tides and have heard that there are places in the Puget Sound area where tidal currents can be as fast as 15 knots. (Is this true?) I am sure I can learn the tides and follow the tables and read the charts. I figured it out last time I was out there but I have not practiced since. I am hoping that people here would like to join me in a little thought experiment on a boat.