Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-14-2008
Unpaid Intern

josrulz is on a distinguished road
Advice needed: First boat purchase for experienced sailor

Hey everyone. I've been lurking around Sailnet for a while, but I'm relatively new here. I recently moved very close to the Chesapeake Bay--FINALLY--and we're looking into buying a used boat. Now, just to give you the quick background, I have 30 years sailing experience, used to teach sailing, and we regularly chartered boats in the 30 -40 foot range in the Chesapeake Bay. However, I've never owned a boat as an adult. So while I'm comfortable skippering larger boats, I'm well aware that chartering is very different than owning, and don't want to go nuts on my first boat, which might been not so big.

So I'm looking for a boat to sail regularly on the Bay for a couple and one teenager, maybe an occassional guest couple (usually without the teenager though, so it would be 4). We'll sail many weekends (anchoring out mostly), and one 2-3 week trip in the summer.

My budget is probably around 30 -35k, although I might be able to swing a touch more. I'm aware of lots of boats, but haven't been on board a lot of those that I can afford. I'm currently thinking a length in the low 30s, draft under 5 feet (closer to 4 is better) for the Bay. I'd like a boat that sails well, though it doesn't have to be a racer. If I race, it will be rare. Just don't want to be the slow boat "on the block". Looks are important, but subjective.