Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-05-2008

jeffls is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to jeffls
Wanting to buy a first boat...

OK I'll be honest the only sail boats I have been on have been at boat shows. I've owned two powerboats. I grew up on the lakes on minnesota but was transplanted to Savannah via Army. I've been on the tidal waters up to about 20 miles out for a few years now. I have never been on a sailboat though.

I have been deployed for 2 out of the last 4 years and have been dreaming about getting out and just sailing around for a year or so and getting sane again.

I will have about 30k of cash to play with. I want a live aboard that will be easy to handle, I can singlehand, and will get me around the carribean and gulf. I have read so many books on sailing but it is hard to understand what kind of boat would be best for me.

I am new to sailing but I would love to be able to sail far and wide. The only boat in the price range that can get me across an ocean is a contessa 26 and it looks much less liveable for a permanent home.

Any advice? What should I be looking for? And does anyone know anybosy around savannah with a sailboat and the willingness to take a stranger out on the water?
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 03-05-2008
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice
You can probably get an Alberg 30 or a Southern Cross 28/31 for that amount of cash. They'd be much more suitable as liveaboards and all three have made bluewater passages. The SC 28 just finished a circumnavigation last year, and Pat Henry did hers in an SC 31.

There are a lot of boats that you could get. Here's a boats.com search.