SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

1984 Pearson 34

19K views 19 replies 11 participants last post by  eherlihy 
#1 ·
I'm new to Sailnet. I have a '72 Pearson 26' and have a line on a 1984 Pearson 34'. Anyone have any thoughts or experience with the 34?

#2 ·
I know you posted the same question on the Pearson email list, and you should get better answers there. Only thing to be aware of is a potential rudder issue with that boat. Check the links on Dan Pfeiffer's site about that. www.pearsoninfo.net. Check links for the 34.

#4 · (Edited)
I've sailed a 85 P-34 quite a bit through my sailing club. (The one in my avitar in fact) They were available with a swing or fin keel. They're sturdy, as are most Pearsons, but not flashy boats.

SM already pointed you to pearsoninfo.net (which is a great source of info). PM me if there is anything specific that I can answer. Overall I think that it's a nice boat.

Ed

#6 ·
BronxBoy64

I sent a response to your Pearson Email list query. Cliff note version: No direct experience, but almost bought one last summer. Think they are decent boats and decent performer crusier with fin keel. Engine could be a little bigger, but probably is okay.

Instead of P34, I went for a Pearson 10M because fewer dollars needed.

DrB

#8 ·
Pearson 10M

My wife and I think it is a great boat. We have one of the few tall rig versions so it performs a little better in light air compared to the standard rig. The P10M is a tad shorter LOA and Beam, and a little longer WL (Compared to the P34), making it a slightly faster boat. The P10M was designed as a club racer/cruiser. Traveler is in the cockpit on bridge deck, which is both good and bad. Good for controls right at helm, bad as it gets in the way going below deck during sailing.